Potomac Nationals at Lynchburg Hillcats – 4/10/2009

My son was on spring break last week, so it was a perfect time for us to take in our first game of the season. Since the Braves flew the coop in Richmond, Lynchburg is the nearest minor-league town to ours, and we go there often. This time out, I was excited to see the Pirates’ top new prospect, former Vanderbilt star Pedro Alvarez.

Alvarez went 0-5, but knocked in a couple of RBIs. The Hillcats beat the Potomac Nationals 14-7 to start their season undefeated. Here’s what it looked like from where I was sitting.

img_0273

Jester-dude who made balloon animals/hats/stuff. My son was very skeptical of his schtick.

img_0276

Jack with the innovative new Lynchburg Hillcats foam claw. He’ll never go back to the plain old foam finger now.

img_0277

This young lady was the hottest concessions worker I’ve ever seen, but she messed up my order bad. That’ll teach me – always buy snacks from the old guy who’s been there a thousand years.

img_0279

Fans are always welcome to chat or nab a signature. We sat along the third base line, right next to the home dugout.

img_0280

National Anthem time. Even on cloudy days, like this one, the sun always seems to come out at this moment.

img_0284

Alvarez at third. He made a couple of fielding errors, but he’s a rook, so we’ll forgive him.

img_0295

Alvarez at the plate. He’s not the most patient hitter I’ve ever seen, but then again, it was his second pro game ever.

img_0291

I bought a funnel cake at this stand. I hadn’t had one since my grandparents took me to Silver Dollar City when I was a kid. I figured, if it’s good enough for the cop, it’s good enough for me. Of course, I ended up with powdered sugar all over my clothes when the chilly wind kicked up.

img_0293

With our apologies to Dippin’ Dots, Jack and I happen to believe that the simple sno-kone is the ice cream of the past, present, and future.

img_0302

Southpaw dancing on the dugout. We got a new appreciation for the dangers of mascotting when he slipped in a rain puddle and went down. But he was a trooper, and he finished his set.

img_0304

As night fell, it got colder, though the temperature never fell below 65 degrees. The wind was pretty cutting, though, so I bought jack a Hillcats-model blanket to cover up with. For those of you about to call social services, his lips were blue from the sno-kone, not the temperatures.

That’s our first trip. Very soon, I hope to make it to Salem, VA, where they’ve recently become affiliated with the Red Sox. They’ve stashed some great prospects there, including Ryan Kalish and Che-Hsuan Lin, and I want to get there before one of them is called up.

7 responses to this post.

  1. Excellent post! You (and Jack) have set the bar high for future photo essays. Questions:

    1) How many minor league teams are the [blank] Cats? I know last year I saw the Fisher Cats and the Rock Cats.

    2) Do you think Southpaw gets worker’s comp?

    3) How much would you put on these Nats to beat the big-league Nats?

    Reply

  2. [...] Remains in LimboMeet Jay Bruce, Give Him a Nickname, Win a BookBus Leagues Interview: Paul RutgersPotomac Nationals at Lynchburg Hillcats – 4/10/2009Vin Scully on Nick AdenhartQuad Cities River Bandits Star in “Sugar”Welcome the Lehigh Valley Iron [...]

    Reply

  3. [...] Comments Bus Leagues Baseball on Potomac Nationals at Lynchburg…Extra P. on Never Been to Rosenblatt? Act…Ann Pedersen on Never Been to Rosenblatt? [...]

    Reply

  4. Posted by hottconcessionworker on July 24, 2009 at 9:17 am

    So you couldn’t think of anything better to do than pick on a 17 year old girl huh? Well next time you definitely need to get your food from the old man.

    Reply

  5. [...] his debut was magical as he went 3-for-4, but an 0-for-18 would follow.  In fact, his second game line at Lynchburg would show Alvarez went 0-for-5 and had a few fielding errors.  When would he start [...]

    Reply

  6. Thank you, it has been annoying me that i wasnt able to work this out. Regards once more ,!

    Reply

  7. [...] do the mascot job that much more. Even rainy days aren’t safe, as you may remember that I saw Southpaw the Hillcat take a header during his dugout dance after stepping in a puddle of [...]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

