Reliving the Summer of Baseball

Last summer I took my son to nearly every minor league ballpark in our home state of Virginia. I called it “The Summer of Baseball”, and published some of my photos on this blog. I ended up writing an article about it for Camperways magazine, which runs destination features for fans of RV travel. At the time we had seven teams active in the area.

Since then, the Atlanta Braves have announced that they will be moving their AAA affiliate from Richmond to the Atlanta suburbs, and the Rookie level Pulaski facility, which had its Blue Jays affiliation yanked before I could visit, is now back in the game as the lowest level of the Mariners organization.

The article was published tabloid-style, so I had trouble scanning single pages – hope you can stand to read the giant .jpgs I made instead.

vabaseballpage1.jpg

vabaseballpage2.jpg

vabaseball5.jpg

I love going to games, and I love to write about it, but I don’t know jack about making readable internet files.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Tripp on April 2, 2008 at 8:24 pm

    Great article. I grew up in Roanoke, VA and when I was 6 I got Catfish Hunter’s autograph at the Salem Buccaneers’ game (which are now the Lynchburg Hillcats I believe). That stadium is in use by the Roanoke College baseball team now. We moved to a small town east of Danville when I was 13 and I frequented the Danville Braves. Eventually, I went back to Salem, VA to attend Roanoke College and luckily for us the stadium was a short walk through the graveyard from the college. Needless to say Thirsty Thursdays always brought the RC students to the stadium. It’s a beautiful stadium though.

    Now I’m down in Charleston, SC and if you get a chance you should check out the Sally League River Dog’s stadium. It sits right on the Ashley River on one side and backs up to the marsh on the other side. Not to mention that this season some 8 of the the Yankees top 30 prospects are on the roster. Should be a fun summer here. Once again great article.

    Reply

  2. Thanks, Tripp. We really hope to get to some games outside our immediate area this season. This should be a fun summer.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Bruce on April 3, 2008 at 3:46 am

    Tripp is right; the Bucs used to be a Pirates affiliate.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

