Spotlight on AA Ball: 4/30/2008

I like that the Erie Seawolves (Tigers) have a reading program for kids. At first I thought that it was aiming a bit low, only asking kids to read three books between April and September to earn game tickets, but then I realized there were no restrictions on how many times a kid could come back for more. Plus, the mascot C. Wolf is kind of cool. [Seawolves.com]

When the Altoona Curve (Pirates) pay tribute to working implements, also known as “tools”, they’re going to honor football coach Nick Saban as a Tool with a capital “T”. Now that’s funny. [Friendsoftheprogram.net]

The West Tennessee Diamond Jaxx (Mariners) have a LOT of rules at Pringles Park. If I were you, I wouldn’t collect $200 without passing Go, either. [Diamondjaxx.com]

I always enjoy the Hawaiians in baseball. Meet Micah Kila Kaaihue of the Northwest Arkansas Naturals (Royals). He’s only hitting .225, but he’s blasted six homers already. [MiLB.com]

And, since I blew off Monday’s A-ball news to write my final school paper ever, I’ll throw in the story of the Quad Cities River Bandits (Cardinals) and their battle with the Big Muddy… the Old Man… the Mighty Mississip… [MiLB.com]

2 responses to this post.

  1. Congrats on writing your final school paper ever. That must be a pretty great feeling.

    Looks as though Wilkerson just got cut, and Balentien and Clement have been called up…

    Reply

  2. Thanks. Of course, this is the second time around for me, so I might be dumb enough to do it again. Unless this site makes Brian and I millionaires – that’s the plan.

    There’s millions in minor league baseball blogging, right?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

