I Kinda Feel Bad For The Horse

You know that scene in The 40 Year Old Virgin where Seth Rogen is talking about his wild weekend in Tijuana, and he goes off on a tangent about seeing a show where a woman performed some, uh, unnatural acts with a horse?

“We get there and we think it’s gonna be awesome and… it is not as cool as it sounds like it’s gonna be,” says Rogen’s character.  “To be honest I just felt bad for her, we all just felt bad for her.

I kinda felt bad for the horse!”

That quote sums up exactly how I feel about Mike Hampton at this point in his career (bestiality references excluded).

An article at MiLB.com last night talked about Hampton’s latest minor league rehab stint, which began on Saturday night with a start for Atlanta’s Rookie-level affiliate in the Gulf Coast League.  My first instinct was to make a big deal out of it, talk about how Hampton was starting once again on the long road back to the majors, and encourage some of our readers in the south to get out to a game and report back on their findings (they’ll have plenty of time to do so: Hampton will pitch at least once more for the GCL Braves and three more times in the minors before rejoining the major league squad).

Then I realized that I didn’t really want to do any of that, because talking about Mike Hampton and his myriad injuries was no longer as fun as I thought it would be.  I mean, you read the story at first and you think, “Mike Hampton’s pitching again – I wonder how he’ll hurt himself this time?”  But really, in the end, it’s just not as cool as it sounded like it was gonna be. 

I never thought this would happen, not with Mike Hampton, but I think we’ve finally reached the point where I kinda feel bad for the horse.

One response to this post.

  1. Ha Ha Ha! That’s the first analogy like that I’ve heard drawn to Hampton. Oh man!

    Here’s one for you,
    Mike Hampton is like Social Security. Yes, it would be nice if we all get it some day but I’m still depositing into my Roth IRA and savings accounts because I don’t think it’ll be there when I really need it.

    Try that one on.

    Great post though!

    JB in ATL

    Reply

Leave a Reply

