Reason #137 Why I Love OMDQ

Rebel Ridling.

In a post written yesterday, my esteemed writing partner tossed the name Rebel Ridling out in the most casual manner. I picked it up and ran around the room like I’d found a hundred dollar bill.

Now, before I continue to unravel this delightful mystery, I have to point out that Rebel Ridling is also reason #137 why I’m glad I switched from Journalism studies to regular English Lit years ago. Because if I had finished that J-school program, odds are I would have ended up writing dumb lines like Rebel Yell or Rebel’s Assault (curly-haired Cowboy cranker wrinkled my nose, too) for some daily newspaper somewhere.

Instead, I got a fairly useless degree, which set me up perfectly to be a wise-ass blogger. So I can talk to you about Rebel Ridling without resorting to easy puns.

Rebel Ridling is a 6’4″, 230 lb first baseman for the Short A Boise Hawks (Cubs). He hails from tiny Sentinel, Oklahoma, played his college ball at Oklahoma State, and he’s tearing the cover off the ball. He was selected in the 25th round of the 2008 draft with the 761st pick overall, after three seasons in Stillwater. That was just 22 days ago, and already he’s hitting .405 in ten games at Boise.

His sister’s name is Harli.

Now, the name thing is obviously what interested me. But, as I said before, it’s just lazy to go with “Rebel without a Cause” and that ilk. Anyone who’s read S.E. Hinton or seen the film “The Outsiders” is not surprised to find names like Ponyboy, Soda Pop, or Rebel in the state of Oklahoma. Apparently that’s just the way things are done in the Sooner State.

I’m going to keep my fingers crossed and hope Rebel keeps up the power production we’ve seen from him so far. That way, I can legitimately include him in a future edition of The Z-Meter.

3 responses to this post.

  1. I was assisting a student in an English class this year and read The Outsiders for the first time. Tremendous, tremendous book. The movie, on the other hand, should have been a lot better.

    I tried to be somewhat low-key with my mention of Rebel Ridling because I knew there was nothing I could do with that name. It’s awesomeness was simply beyond my comprehension. Collin Balester, Collin Cowgill, I can handle. But Rebel Ridling? No way. This is why we’re a good team.

    By the way: is it just me, or is it damn near impossible to type only “Rebel” or “Ridling”? I’m finding that if I want to say this kid’s name, it has to be “Rebel Ridling”. I like that.

    Reply

  2. Yeah, the movie gave in to the Brat Pack casting call. Not great.

    Honestly, if his name were Rebel Johnson or Rebel Grant, we wouldn’t be having this conversation. Rebel Ridley is where it’s at.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Wally on June 23, 2009 at 1:51 pm

    Just Googled Rebel. Why?….
    Because he impressed the hell out of me last night as he Won the Home Run Derby at the Midwest League All-Star Game last night in Clinton, Iowa
    12 Homers in three (10-out) Rounds.
    120 Degrees on the Field… without him.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

