I Know Phillip Wellman – You, Sir, Are No Phillip Wellman

When I read this article about the excellently named Kash Beauchamp (kudos to your parents, sir), the manager of the independent American Association’s Wichita Wingnuts who was ejected and later suspended following a profanity-laced on-field tirade on Wednesday, I was impressed with the man’s work.  Read the story – that’s an impressive sounding display, is it not?

Here’s the video:

Call me crazy, but I expected more.  Yes, Beauchamp was clearly pissed off (the Bobblehead Maneuver was a bit impressive – as he said later, “I didn’t realize my head was bouncing around like that.  I’m lucky I didn’t dislocate my freakin’ neck.”) and announced his presence with authority, but taking the shoes off?  Making the umpire smell your armpit?  Mildly impressive, but worth no more than a 1.4 on the Mikulik-Wellman Scale, if that.

On a personal note, because that’s what we’re all about here: our condolences to Beauchamp, who lost his father over the winter and spent significant time in the days before the tirade in the hospital with his seriously ill grandmother.  Stuff like that can put anyone in a bad frame of mind.

(I forget where I originally saw this.  It wasn’t at SI – I think it might’ve been The Big Lead)

One response to this post.

  1. Maybe Beauchamp was actually complimenting the umpire on doing such a good job; ya never know. 🙂
    Seriously, if you or I acted like that in public, we’d be put on a 72-hour hold in the local ER. Maybe you really have to be a little nuts to be a baseball manager.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

