The Minor Links

Have you read a great story about minor league baseball recently? Share it with us at onemoredyingquail@gmail.com and it may be included in our weekly links post.

Umpbump’s Sarah Green recently embarked on the type of mid-summer road trip that makes devoted family men like Extra P and myself extremely jealous: a multi-city tour of minor league ballparks. She’s filed a number of reports with the home office already; you can check them out here, here, here, here, and here.

“My career is still going strong,” he said. “At first it surprised me, but not anymore. I have a lot of fans and people seem to like my singing. So I’ll keep doing it for awhile, I guess.” Those words were spoken by William Hung. He has a career and I don’t. Pardon me for a moment – I need to go jump off a bridge. (Deadspin)

The Harlingen WhiteWings are putting humanity above dollars and cents, opening their gates for the remaineder of the season in the wake of Hurricane Dolly (ESPN)

Phillipe Aumont, one of Seattle’s top pitching prospects, has been on the disabled list for over a month with a sore elbow. The gentlemen at Driveline Mechanics are not surprised.

Biggest bust among first overall draft picks? Matthew Bush will probably be there someday, but I’m gonna take Steve Chilcott for the time being until we see how everything plays out. Brien Taylor had all th talent in the world before injuring his shoulder in a bar fight, which I think removes him from the “Biggest Bust” conversation (The Big Lead)

One response to this post.

  1. I saw William Hung at Holman Stadium, home of the Can-Am League’s Nashua Pride.

    I believe there were nearly 50 fans in attendance!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

