Bus Leagues in Baltimore

I went to a major-league game in Baltimore this Sunday. Rangers at Orioles, with a few of our old Z-meter regulars playing, like Felix Pie and Elvis Andrus. But my real Bus Leagues surprise came when I took the advice of an usher and visited the Sports Museum that was recently built next to Camden Yards. I was wandering around in the rather gloomy basement display area and found this:

img_0552

This bus was actually a display showing the travel conditions of Maryland’s Negro Leagues players. I liked it – I thought it was an innovative use of the space they had, even though it was a sort of creepy cellar. The upstairs was given over to the old Baltimore Colts and the Orioles. Everything else was downstairs.

img_0556

I was amused by the caption on this poster. “Why the Minor Leagues?” A question OMDQ and I ask ourselves every day. Kidding! We love the Bus Leagues. Pictured here are uniforms from Maryland’s entries into the minor league system: the Aberdeen IronBirds (Short Season NY-Penn League), Bowie Baysox (AA Eastern League), Frederick Keys (A+ Carolina League), Delmarva Shorebirds (A South Atlantic League), and Hagerstown Suns (A South Atlantic League). The Suns belong to the Nats organization. The rest are all variations on the Orioles.

img_0562

Just kind of a cool map. It shows all of the minor-league teams to call Maryland home, even ones that are now defunct. That hole where they listed the teams is actually where Delaware belongs!

img_0561img_0560

Another perspective on starting out small and making it to the bigs.

At first, I thought it kind of sucked that all of these great items were stuck in the basement. Then I saw this:

img_0569

Dude wins a kajillion Olympic gold medals and all he gets is a crummy alcove and a bare lightbulb.

So, it was kind of cool to see this stuff when I only thought I’d be seeing a MLB game. Still, not sure it was worth ten bucks. But how would I know unless I tried?

Leave a Reply

