The Big Unit Wins Number 300

As soon as I went online to check Andrew McCutchen’s line from his major league debut this afternoon, I remembered that today was the day Randy Johnson attempted to cement his place as one of the greatest pitchers of all-time by joining the 300 Win Club (I write that sentence for those of you who hate wins as a statistic).

Johnson left after six innings in which he allowed just one unearned run on two hits, with two walks and two strikeouts thrown in for good measure.  Things would have been so much easier if rookie Jordan Zimmermann had just rolled over, like he was supposed to, and let the legend have his day.  The kid was up to the challenge, however, striking out seven and giving up two runs on three hits in six innings of his own.

Trailing 2-1 in the bottom of the eighth, the Nationals had a chance to deny Johnson his day, loading the bases with two outs as Adam Dunn strode mightily to the plate (I was terrified, and I was sitting at my in-laws dining room table following the Yahoo box score at the time).

But then, there was a thought in the back of my head: what if Dunn decides to let Johnson have this one and strikes out on purpose?  I have no idea why he, or anyone would do this, but I thought it anyway.  And what did Dunn do?  Strike out looking (I highly doubt it was on purpose – that’s not how the big guy rolls).  I’m psychic.  Who rung him up?  Londonderry, New Hampshire’s own Brian Wilson, representin’ for the Granite State, bay-bay!  To celebrate, he’s gonna drive downtown in the rain, 9:30 on a Tuesday night, just to check out late night record shop.

San Francisco scored three in the top of the ninth to give Wilson some breathing room.  He didn’t really need it, striking out the side for the most important save of his life.

So congratulations to Randy Johnson, who is now tied with Early Wynn and Lefty Grove on the all-time wins leaderboard.  Next up?  Recently dissed fellow lefty Tom Glavine.  Go get ‘im, O Mighty Mulleted One.

Update: I should probably watch the games before I start typing.  The MLB Network just showed the replay of Dunn’s at-bat, and let’s just say that the home plate umpire’s call on the final pitch (on a 3-2 count, no less) appeared to be, um, generous.  Dunn was halfway down the line before he realized he had struck out.

3 responses to this post.

  1. You can call me Pavlov’s dog.

    Reply

  2. Ring a bell and I’ll salivate. How’d you like that?

    You have no idea how happy I am that someone got that reference.

    Reply

  3. Love that song. I sound terrible when I sing along, though. Can’t match the range at all.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

