My Road to Omaha

I guess you could say I went through my own regional and super-regional to get to Omaha today.

I first flew to Philadelphia to meet up with Marco, the founder of Storming the Floor. We tried to get into the Phillies game with the Red Sox, but apparently people actually show up to watch two championship-caliber teams play, so we couldn’t get in. I did, however, experience some of the fabled “Marco Magic”, which leads to close encounters with famous people. Marco is well known for having chatted up O.J. Simpson (post-double-murder) as well as various other stars of stage and arena. His karma did not disappoint, as we stumbled across an episode of “It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia” being filmed near The Bank. Marco was most excited to see Green Man, but I got more of a thrill out of the fact that Fred Savage was the director, and he was sitting ten yards away from us.

So, Philly was my regional. I went from there to the Super-Regional in New York, as we attended the Blogs With Balls conference. Though it was, in fact held in a basement (which we all appreciated) most everyone there was a fairly normal person. Special shout-outs go to Yahoo’s Puck Daddy, Greg Wyshinski, who is funny and very likable, and to Spencer Hall Orson Swindle of Every Day Should Be Saturday, who is the rare comedic alpha dog who is willing to laugh at other people’s jokes. Am I name-dropping? Hell yes I am. UffordSebekSarahSpain. Mottram.

This morning I arrived in Omaha, where I’ve taken in Arizona State’s win over North Carolina. I’ll be back tomorrow at 1pm for Virginia’s elimination game against Cal State Fullerton. I also met Brian Foley of the College Baseball Blog, who scored a swanky seat in the press box. Photos and recaps to come after I get back to Charlottesville!

3 responses to this post.

  1. Ah, you did make it! I wondered. Hope you’re enjoying this lovely town!

    Reply

  2. […] Road to Omaha (Bus Leagues Baseball) Special shout-outs go to Yahoo’s Puck Daddy, Greg Wyshinski, who is funny and very likable, and […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

