The Great Baseball Road Trip of 2009: Harrisburg to Cooperstown to Home

I’m not going to write a whole lot about Cooperstown. Yes, it as an awesome visit – it’s always an awesome visit – but nothing out of the ordinary happened there. We saw a lot of cool stuff at the Hall (Tim took a ton of pictures, some of which I’ll post below), ate at the Doubleday Café (where we watched the United States take a 2-0 halftime lead on Brazil), visited my favorite book store and card shop, bought gifts for the wife and girlfriends, and left town (where we found out that the United States had blown that 2-0 halftime lead and lost, 3-2).

In a way, it was our best day. We were all exhausted, but the promise of home was within reach; we knew that the next time we slept, it would be in our own beds. Tim was finally feeling better after being sick as a dog all weekend; he and Chris and Billy were cracking jokes the whole way home. I was the only one having a tough time – I had sat with the driver for three consecutive legs of the trip and no matter how much I tried to convince myself that I would be fine until we got home, it wasn’t true. Being able to stay awake for long stretches of time has always been a badge of honor for me. I may not be smarter than most people or tougher than most people, but I can certainly outlast most people. Not this time, my friends. This time, I began nodding off in Vermont and continued fighting it most of the way home.

Ah, home. We pulled up outside my apartment and made sure Tim and I had all our stuff out of the back. It was raining, so we said some quick goodbyes and headed inside while Billy got behind the wheel to go drop Chris off. Tim and I walked up my front steps and opened the door to best thing I’d seen all weekend.

vicki and joey

My wife smiled at us and said, “Joey, Daddy’s home!” My son looked up at me, looked past me to my brother, his godfather…and burst into tears.

And so ended the great Baseball Road Trip of 2009.

Chris thanks the man who got us through those long days and nights on the road

Chris thanks the man who got us through those long days and nights on the road

I could barely believe it, but Billy didn't know who Buck O'Neil was.

I could barely believe it, but Billy didn't know who Buck O'Neil was.

They had an excellent new exhibit on Hank Aaron.

They had an excellent new exhibit on Hank Aaron.

Chris and I wanted to know what it felt like to chase Hammerin' Hank around the bases.

Chris and I wanted to know what it felt like to chase Hammerin' Hank around the bases.

A good picture, except for the fact that we're all shadowy and stuff.

A good picture, except for the fact that we're all shadowy and stuff.

There, much better.  Now we just look tired.

There, much better. Now we just look tired.

Leave a Reply

