Stephen Strasburg Was Officially The Best College Player In 2009

Earlier today, Stephen Strasburg was presented with the 2009 Golden Spikes Award “as the nation’s premier amateur player.”  In other news, the sun rose in the East.

The other four finalists were Dustin Ackley, Mike Leake, Kent Matthes, and A.J. Morris.  Strasburg (1), Ackley (2) and Leake (8) were all Top Ten picks in June’s First Year Player Draft.  Last year’s winner, Buster Posey, was drafted by the Giants in 2008 and just earned a promotion from A-Advanced San Jose to AAA Fresno.

Previous winners of the award are listed below.  More information can be found here.

2008: Buster Posey
2007: David Price
2006: Tim Lincecum
2005: Alex Gordon
2004: Jered Weaver
2003: Rickie Weeks
2002: Khalil Greene
2001: Mark Prior
2000: Kip Bouknight
1999: Jason Jennings
1998: Pat Burrell
1997: J.D. Drew
1996: Travis Lee
1995: Mark Kotsay
1994: Jason Varitek
1993: Darren Dreifort
1992: Phil Nevin
1991: Mike Kelly
1990: Alex Fernandez
1989: Ben McDonald
1988: Robin Ventura
1987: Jim Abbott
1986: Mike Loynd
1985: Will Clark
1984: Oddibe McDowell
1983: Dave Magadan
1982: Augie Schmidt
1981: Mike Fuentes
1980: Terry Francona
1979: Tim Wallach
1978: Bob Horner

No Hall of Famers there (with the asterisked exception of Francona, who may well make it as a manager one day), but you could put together a solid lineup from that group. Who knows, maybe I will tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: