Another No-Hitter From Last Night

Usually, I check minor league box scores at night to see if anything interesting is going on – no-hitters, multi-homerun games, and anything else that catches my eye.  Whatever I miss (the California League usually runs late, for example, so I often don’t see the final scores before heading to bed), I try to look at when I get home from work the next day.

I was so focused on the no-hitters by Jhoulys Chacin et al and Simon Castro last night that my box score viewing stopped short at the Class A level, which is a shame because the Rookie leagues almost always have something interesting going on.  Fortunately, I recently subscribed to MinorLeagueSplits.com, which tracks the best performances each day across all levels.

They alerted me to the phenomenal outing by Daniel De La Cruz of the Dominican Summer League Phillies, who dominated the Mariners with a nine-inning, no walk, twelve strikeout no-hitter.  His game score, according to Minor League Splits, was 99. Just three batters reached, the first on an error leading off the fifth and the other two when they were hit by pitches in the seventh and ninth.

De La Cruz, who turned 19 nine days ago, improved his record to 3-4 with the no-hitter and lowered his ERA to 1.03.

Leave a Reply

