Posts Tagged ‘Golden Spikes Award’

The All-Golden Spikes Award Team

Thirty-two players have won the Golden Spikes Award as the nation’s best amateur player.  As luck would have it, that’s just about enough to put together a full team (thanks to Khalil Greene and Rickie Weeks, the only middle infielders who have won) – lineup, rotation, bullpen, and bench.  They even have a manager. It’s very exciting.

Before moving on, feel free to tip your cap to the six guys who didn’t quite make it: Alex Gordon (2005), Kip Bouknight (2000), Travis Lee (1996), Mike Kelly (1991), Augie Schmidt (1982), and Mike Fuentes (1981).  We hardly knew ye.

Starting Lineup

C: Jason Varitek, Georgia Tech (1994)
1B: Will Clark, Mississippi State (1985)
2B: Rickie Weeks, Southern University (2003)
SS: Khalil Greene, Clemson (2002)
3B: Bob Horner, Arizona State (1978)

OF: J.D. Drew, Florida State (1997)
OF: Pat Burrell, Miami (1998)
OF: Oddibe McDowell, Arizona State (1984)

DH: Robin Ventura, Oklahoma State (1988)

Starting Rotation
SP: Tim Lincecum, Washington (2006)
SP: Jered Weaver, Cal State-Long Beach (2004)
SP: Stephen Strasburg, San Diego State (2009)
SP: Alex Fernandez, Miami (1990)
SP: Ben McDonald, Louisiana State (1989)

RP: Mike Loynd, Florida State (1986)
RP: Jim Abbott, Michigan (1987)
RP: Mark Prior, Southern Cal (2001)
RP: Jason Jennings, Baylor (1999)
RP: Darren Dreifort, Wichita State (1993)
CL: David Price, Vanderbilt (2007)

C: Buster Posey, Florida State (2008)
INF: Dave Magadan, Alabama (1983)
INF: Tim Wallach, Cal State-Fullerton (1979)
OF: Mark Kotsay, Cal State-Fullerton (1995)
UT: Phil Nevin, Cal State-Fullerton (1992)

Manager: Terry Francona, Arizona (1980)

Stephen Strasburg Was Officially The Best College Player In 2009

Earlier today, Stephen Strasburg was presented with the 2009 Golden Spikes Award “as the nation’s premier amateur player.”  In other news, the sun rose in the East.

The other four finalists were Dustin Ackley, Mike Leake, Kent Matthes, and A.J. Morris.  Strasburg (1), Ackley (2) and Leake (8) were all Top Ten picks in June’s First Year Player Draft.  Last year’s winner, Buster Posey, was drafted by the Giants in 2008 and just earned a promotion from A-Advanced San Jose to AAA Fresno.

Previous winners of the award are listed below.  More information can be found here.

2008: Buster Posey
2007: David Price
2006: Tim Lincecum
2005: Alex Gordon
2004: Jered Weaver
2003: Rickie Weeks
2002: Khalil Greene
2001: Mark Prior
2000: Kip Bouknight
1999: Jason Jennings
1998: Pat Burrell
1997: J.D. Drew
1996: Travis Lee
1995: Mark Kotsay
1994: Jason Varitek
1993: Darren Dreifort
1992: Phil Nevin
1991: Mike Kelly
1990: Alex Fernandez
1989: Ben McDonald
1988: Robin Ventura
1987: Jim Abbott
1986: Mike Loynd
1985: Will Clark
1984: Oddibe McDowell
1983: Dave Magadan
1982: Augie Schmidt
1981: Mike Fuentes
1980: Terry Francona
1979: Tim Wallach
1978: Bob Horner

No Hall of Famers there (with the asterisked exception of Francona, who may well make it as a manager one day), but you could put together a solid lineup from that group. Who knows, maybe I will tomorrow.