Posts Tagged ‘Tigres de Quintana Roo’

Mexican League Finals All Tied Up at Two

After Saltillo took the first two games of the Mexican League finals from Quintana Roo over the weekend, it appeared the Saraperos were in good position to win the team’s first championship since 1980.

El Tigres, however, have clawed their way back into it. After an off day on Monday, they’ve taken two in a row to tie the series heading into tonight’s pivotal Game Five.

If Saltillo wants to bounce back, they’ll need to find some offensive help for Jesus Cota. Cota is hitting his stride a[ the right time, homering in all four games thus far in the finals, but his longball in Game Four accounted for the only Saraperos run.

Update: Saltillo leads, 8-4, in the top of the seventh.

2009 Mexican League Finals – Game Two

The Saraperos de Saltillo moved another step closer to the team’s first Mexican League title in nearly three decades on Sunday, beating el Tigres de Quintana Roo, 6-3.

The bullpen allowed one hit in 2.1 innings and Jesus Cota homered for the second consecutive game as el Saraperos took a two games to none lead in the best-of-seven series.  The team’s last championship was won in 1980.  They finished second in 2004 and 2005.

Monday is a scheduled off day.  The series resumes on Tuesday.

The Mexican League Finals Are Underway

The finals of the Mexican League playoffs got underway last night, with the Saraperos de Saltillo topping the Tigres de Quintana Roo, 7-6. El Tigres led 6-2 after four and a half before el Saraperos scored five in the bottom half. The big hit came off the bat of Jesus Cota, who hit a two-out, three-run homer to put the home team in the lead.

El Saraperos have not won the league championship since 1980, finishing as runners-up three times since. El Tigres are vying for “Team of the Decade” status, with three titles and two second-place finishes to their credit.

The best-of-seven will run through at least Wednesday and possibly as long as next Sunday. The schedule is below.

Game Two: Sunday, August 23
Game Three: Tuesday, August 25
Game Four: Wednesday, August 26
Game Five (if necessary): Thursday, August 27
Game Six (if necessary): Friday, August 28
Game Seven (if necessary): Sunday, August 30