Archive for April 5th, 2008

A Love Letter to the Montgomery Biscuits

First of all, I love the whole Montgomery Biscuits concept. Their logo has a walking, talking biscuit in it! But I have never been to Alabama, so the experience of actually attending a game is not one I’ve had.

Enter writer Jay G. Tate, who has watched his city dance with minor-league baseball for decades. They had a team, they lost a team, they turned down an A-ball club, then accepted an independent. All of that led to the current situation – a nice, new AA stadium and a beloved team that fits the city perfectly. Here’s how Tate puts it:

The civic center looks incredible. I feel like I’m in Nashville while standing in front of the new Renaissance Montgomery Hotel and Spa. A new Hampton Inn and Suites, built into an existing building on Commerce St., will open next month.

Revitalization is real.

That all came together while I was sitting there in Section 105 on an perfect night for baseball in my de facto hometown. The game, which rebuked us time and again, ultimately helped save us from serial mediocrity.

[The Montgomery Advertiser]

Sometimes it’s worth holding out for what you really want. Sounds like AA-ball and Montgomery are made for each other.